Fall 2017
ICO Matters Illinois Optometrist of the Year Dr Goodfellow Fall 2017

IOA Names Optometrist of the Year

ICO is delighted to congratulate Geoffrey Goodfellow, OD ’01, FAAO, on being named the 2017 Optometrist of the Year by the Illinois Optometric Association. This is the highest accolade the IOA can bestow on a fellow optometrist. The honor was given at the IOA’s 2017 convention, which took place September 14-17 in Itasca, Illinois. The Optometrist of the Year award recognizes Dr. Goodfellow’s service to optometry, the public, and the IOA and/or AOA.

In addition to being an alumnus and Associate Professor, Dr. Goodfellow is ICO’s Associate Dean for Academic Assessment and Records. He currently teaches ophthalmic optics, instructs a variety of pediatric and binocular vision laboratories, and coordinates the Private Practice Clerkship. He played an integral role in updating ICO’s curriculum for last year’s entering class. We are so fortunate to have him sharing his many talents with ICO.

Several other members of the ICO family were also recognized at the 2017 IOA convention. Christine Allison, OD, FAAO, FCOVD, was given a plaque recognizing her completion of the 2016-17 year as IOA President. Mark Skowron, OD ’81, was inducted in her place. Jordan Beller, OD ’71, and D. R. Gordon, OD ’71, both received their 50-year member awards.

Congratulations to all!

Be first to comment