Fall 2014
Fall 2014


Members of the ICO community were certainly feeling the brotherly love in Philadelphia in June, as several were honored during Optometry’s Meeting. ICO President Arol Augsburger, OD, was inducted into the National Optometry Hall of Fame, and faculty members Yi Pang, MD, OD, PhD, and Janice Jurkus, OD ’74, MBA, each received awards.

During his 47 years in optometry, Dr. Augusburger has not only left his mark on ICO, where he has been President since 2002, but also The Ohio State University College of Optometry and the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry. While at ICO, he has advanced student performance on National Board Examinations, expanded the clinic program to include an electronic health care record system and additional patient care clinics in communities surrounding the college, and provided leadership for the long-term investment in the college’s assets by overseeing the addition of an enhanced learning center, state-of-the-art Lecture Center and library, and the Alfred and Sarah Rosenbloom Center on Vision and Aging.

His awards include Ohio Optometrist of the Year (1985), National Optometrist of the Year (1986), H. Ward Ewalt Medal for Service to Optometry (1993), Alabama Optometrist of the Year (2000), Carel C. Koch Award (2001), Illinois Optometrist of the Year (2007), and the American Optometric Association’s Distinguished Service Award (2008).

In his remarks during the June 26 induction ceremony, Dr. Augsburger said: “I have had the good fortune in optometry to work with colleagues in three states, and indeed within optometry and other health professional organizations throughout the country…. [I]t has been a privilege to work with you when opportunities existed to change the practice of optometry and the education of optometrists, and to share with you the infectious enthusiasm which comes from working on noble causes, and savor the determination you have shared with me to change this profession and benefit the eye and vision care of every citizen.”

ASCO conferred upon Dr. Pang its inaugural Rising Star Award. She has been a faculty member at ICO for nine years and served as assistant dean for research for five. ASCO recognized her work as a teacher, administrator and particularly as a scholar.

In her time at ICO, Dr. Pang has authored 25 publications and 42 scientific presentations; her work has appeared in such journals as Optometry and Vision Science, Journal of American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology, Strabismus and Investigative Ophthalmology and Visual Science. She serves on three editorial boards and is a manuscript reviewer for nine scientific journals; additionally, she initiated ICO’s annual Research Symposium.

The AOA also honored Dr. Jurkus with its Contact Lens and Cornea Section Achievement Award. Dr. Jurkus is an internationally noted contact lens lecturer and over the course of her 40-year-career has been honored with the Association of Optometric Contact Len Educators’ Lester Janoff Award (twice) and Vision Monday’s 50 Most Influential Women in Optical.

Be first to comment