Fall 2018
convention center roundup photo Fall 2018

Convention Season Roundup

Since the last issue of ICO Matters, 2018’s optometric convention season has come and gone. ICO was well-represented at industry events across the country, including:

College of Optometrists in Vision Development (COVD)

The 2018 COVD International Meeting took place on American soil in Bellevue, Washington. More than 900 attended with many different countries represented. During the meeting, Dr. Christine Allison was installed as President of COVD. Dominick Maino, OD ’78 emceed the Awards Luncheon, took official photos, and presented a poster on convergence spasm. Pediatric Residents Drs. Alaina Bandstra and Laura Thompson also presented posters.

National Optometric Association (NOA)

NOA celebrated a milestone in 2018- its 50th annual convention. Participants gathered in San Antonio, Texas. Nicole Akpunku, OD ’18, attended the conference with eight additional ICO alumni. ICO-NOSA was recognized as Chapter of the Year, 2017-18. At the NOSA Scholarship Award Banquet, ICO students and alumni took home more than $11,000 in awards and grants.

American Optometric Association (AOA)

The AOA’s 2018 convention was in Denver, Colorado. As one of the profession’s largest events, Optometry’s Meeting included a large showing of ICO events and accolades. President Emeritus Dr. Arol Augsburger carried the Illinois Flag into the House of Delegates. Steven McCarty, ’19, took second place in the Essilor Optometry Student Bowl. The AOA’s Contact Lens and Cornea Section selected Dr. Renee Reeder to receive its 2018 Achievement Award. Jessica Capri, ’19, and Mariana Ferraz, ’19, won Best Poster and Third Place Overall for the Walmart Project Foresight Scholarship. Finally, Lori Grover, OD ’90, PhD, was elected to the AOA Board of Trustees.

Illinois Optometric Association (IOA)

Peoria was the chosen city for the IOA’s yearly conference. ICO alumni always play a major role at this home state event. Over the weekend of September 20-23, 2018, Robert Blumthal, OD ’81, was named Optometrist of the Year. Robert Brenart, OD ’76, became Keyperson of the Year. The Friend of Optometry Award was renamed to honor Floyd Mizener, OD ’48, and Christine Allison, OD, was given a Past President Award.

Comments are closed.