Spring 2018
drone image of ICO campus Spring 2018
[ Konstantina Kalas, '19 ]

Class Notes Spring 2018



Richard Rucoba (NICO) was an honoree during the 13th Annual Hispanic Heritage Celebration in Thornton Township (Ill.)  He was recognized for his service to his country and community. Dr. Rucoba also participated in the National Senior Olympics, bringing home three gold medals and one silver in track and racquetball. In his 21 years competing, he has earned over 200 medals.



Gilda Preskill was honored by the Cuban Medical Delegation of Chicago for her more than 50 years of service as a medical professional. 



John Whitener wrote a book, Don’t Ask and I Will Tell: Finding Myself in Vietnam. Available on Amazon, the book is an intimate and candid memoir, detailing his diary entries while serving in Vietnam.



Andrew Buzzelli has been selected to serve as the chair of ASCO’s Diversity and Cultural Competency Committee.


Mark Palmer was appointed to the Cornhusker Public Power District Board of Directors in Columbus, Neb.


Raymond Goga is proud to announce that his son, Ryan, was named Paraoptometric of the Year by the Wisconsin Optometric Association.



Thomas Bobst was elected to the Board of Directors of the Association of Regulatory Boards of Optometry.


Louise Sclafani received the Impressa Award from the Joint Civic Committee of Italian Americans. This award recognizes the achievements of Italian-American women who are accomplished in their fields.



Lisa Slaby was named Optometrist of the Year by the Wisconsin Optometric Association.


Thomas Rene opened Eye2Eye Vision, a private practice in Fargo, N.D. He specializes in dry eye management and postoperative eye care.



Nicholas Vincelli and his wife Amy welcomed a baby girl, Evelyn Lillian, on Feb. 8.


Angelina Panovic-Popovic welcomed a baby girl, Adriana Zora-Anja, on July 18, 2017.


Nana Owusu and Renée Phipps welcomed baby boy, Harrison Maxwell, on Sept. 14, 2017. Dad and son enjoyed watching their first season of Raiders’ games together!



Daman Toor Gupta wrote and was featured in two articles in the Nov./Dec. issue of Healthylivingmadesimple.com. The two articles detail a walk-in visit that turned into a lifesaving trip to the emergency room- one from Dr. Gupta’s perspective and one from the patient’s perspective.


Emily Walters joined Ophthalmology LTD in Sioux Falls, S.D.


Katherine Lenz received the Young Alumni Award from Elmhurst College, her undergraduate alma mater. The award recognizes her work treating underserved patients and her exemplary contributions to society.


Mark Buboltz and Susie Hemann, OD ’15, were united in marriage on May 27, 2017, at Four Daughters Vineyard & Winery in Spring Valley, Minn.


Briana Bohn joined Lifetime Vision Source in Jamestown, N.D.

Ashley Finch was elected as the 2017 Young OD of the Year by the Wisconsin Optometric Association.

Ashley Tholen joined Grand Rapids Ophthalmology (GRO).  GRO is the largest fully-integrated eye care medical group in West Michigan with 12 locations.


Jesus Martinez was named the 2017 recipient of the Bert C. and Lydia M. Corwin Contact Lens Residency Award by The American Academy of Optometry Foundation.

Friends and Family

Renee Reeder, associate professor at ICO, was named Practitioner of the Year by the Gas Permeable Lens Institute.  She is the first contact lens educator to receive this award.

To submit your news and announcements for Class Notes or In Memoriam, click here.

The following abbreviations denote predecessor names of the Illinois College of Optometry.
NICO: Northern Illinois College of Optometry
CCO: Chicago College of Optometry
MCO: Monroe College of Optometry
Northern Illinois College of Optometry Chicago College of Optometry Monroe College of Optometry

Be first to comment