Fall 2018
Class Notes Hero Fall 2018

Class Notes Fall 2018



Jerome Agrest (NICO) is retiring at the age of 90 after 60 years of optometric practice. He plans to expand his already busy volunteer schedule.



John Howlette (CCO) was honored posthumously by the Bon Secours Richmond Community Hospital in their new outdoor Legacy Wall, featuring murals of 21 African-American physicians who founded the hospital.



Brent Nielsen is retiring after 57 years of optometric practice.



Irwin Azman is the co-founder of Precision Keratoconus Network, which has recently launched as the first optometric referral network solely for optometrists to see more keratoconus patients. He is also the co-founder of the Keratoconus Institute of Maryland, dedicated to the eradication of keratoconus in children. He was honored as the National Keratoconus Foundation’s Top Docs for 2018.

James Kirchner is assuming the role of President Emeritus of SynergEyes.  He will continue to develop and foster relationships with the U.S. eyecare community, be involved in new product development, and advocate for SynergEyes contact lenses.


Doug Johnson is celebrating 40 years of optometric practice at Family Eye Care Association along with his son, Eric Johnson, OD ’11.

Don Koeber is retiring after 40 years of optometric practice in the office he took over from his father William Koeber, OD ’48.



Millicent “Millie” Knight has been appointed Senior Vice President for the Essilor of America customer development group.



Troy Raber was specially selected to lead up the new Milford, Delaware office for Vision Quest Eye Care Center.


Jeff Calhoun was named the President of the New York State Optometric Association.

Stacy Hinkemeyer-Colatrella has been elected to the Board of Directors of the Minnesota Optometric Association.

Jonathan Micetich’s practice was honored by CooperVision as one of its 2018 Best Practices.


Bernard C. Tekiele, III has been promoted to Chief Executive Officer at the Michigan Eye Institute and Michigan Eye Surgery Center in Flint, MI.


Scott Greder is currently serving as the President of the Nebraska Optometric Association.



Mamie Chan was named the Optometrist of the Year by the New Mexico Optometric Association.


Erika Melchiorre was named the President of the Junior League of Summit, New Jersey.


Jason Blowe and family welcomed baby Chloe Renee Blowe on April 30.

Tim and Miranda Tsang welcomed baby Audrey on July 18.


Katherine Hertzberg was the recipient of the George Lazansky Distinguished Service Award from the Naperville (Ill.) Noon Lions Club.

Karina Langle has opened her own practice, Lunettes Family Eyecare and Optical Boutique, in the Mt. Greenwood neighborhood of Chicago.


Molly Walker was named the Iowa Optometric Association’s Young Optometrist of the Year. She is the owner of Oskaloosa Vision Center.



Nysha Blender and family welcomed baby Logan Kai Blender on April 20.

Carmen Recksiedler has celebrated the grand opening of Visual Eyes Optometry at their new location in downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba.


Steven Hass has announced the 100-year anniversary celebration of Hass Vision Center in Owosso, Mich.

Craig and Jackie Keller welcomed twin girls Morgan Amy and Hailey Ann on May 2.

Karen Lee celebrated the grand opening of her practice, Eye Focus Optometry & Optical, in Burlington, Ontario.


Jeffrey Wilhite was elected to the Board of Directors of the Optometric Association of Louisiana as Secretary-Treasurer.


Joshua Robinson has been named as the Director of Vision Rehabilitation at Vanderbilt Eye Institute in Nashville, Tenn.

Kassandra Wedeking and family welcomed baby Jackson on April 16.


Abby Jakob was named the recipient of the 2018 Young Professional of the Year Award by the Windsor Chamber of Commerce.


Logan Kiekhafer recently joined the Eye Care Center at Mayo Clinic Health System in Eau Claire, Wis.

Zac Holland earned his Fellowship of the Scleral Lens Education Society. He is only the 137th person worldwide to be honored in this prestigious group.


Robert Baltierra, Jr. has joined Grand Rapids Ophthalmology in Grand Rapids, Mich.

Emily Hutchins has joined the Family Vision Clinic in Savage, Minn., after completing a VA residency specializing in brain injury, low vision and primary care optometry.

Rina Sheth has joined Naper Grove Vision Care in Naperville, Ill., after completing her residency. She specializes in hard-to-fit contact lenses, emergency eye problems, and ocular disease.


Gregory Macagba has joined Fisher-Gentry Eye Care in Manteno, Ill.

Shanna Miller has joined Three Rivers Eye Care in Humboldt, Iowa.

To submit your news and announcements for Class Notes or In Memoriam, click here.

The following abbreviations denote predecessor names of the Illinois College of Optometry.
NICO: Northern Illinois College of Optometry
CCO: Chicago College of Optometry
MCO: Monroe College of Optometry
Northern Illinois College of Optometry Chicago College of Optometry Monroe College of Optometry

Comments are closed.