Fall 2017
ICO Matters Bean Cloud Gate in Millenium Park Fall 2017

Class Notes Fall 2017



Floyd Zastrow (NICO) has retired at 91 years of age after 67 years of practicing optometry. He plans to visit Italy and do a lot of dancing.


Sol S. Heiman (CCO) has retired after 60 years of private practice and six years as an optometrist in the U.S. Air Force. He wrote and published a book on his six years in the Air Force, three years of which he was in charge of the eye clinic at Amarillo Air Force Base Hospital.


Tony Chan was selected as the recipient of the Spirit of America Award by the National Chinese American Citizens Alliance.



Philip Ortiz has been presented with the Paul Harris Fellow award by the Morris (Illinois) Rotary Club for substantial contributions to its humanitarian and educational programs.


Alan Montgomery is retiring after 40 years of practicing optometry. He plans to spend his time volunteering, traveling and playing more golf.



Joseph Ruskiewicz spoke on the topic of controlling myopia at the 17th International Congress of Ophthalmology and Optometry in Shanghai, China.


Neil Gailmard is the author of the book Practice Management in Optometry, which was inspired by his e-newsletter Optometric Management Tip of the Week that he has been writing since 2002.


Davis Haire was named the #1 optometrist in a readers’ poll conducted by the Wyoming County Press Examiner.

Susanna C. Fostiak has joined Lumen Optical Evanston in downtown Evanston, Ill.



Larry Baitch has accepted the position of Associate Dean for Research at the MCPHS University School of Optometry.



Dale P. Barrette has assumed command of Naval Health Clinic Charleston during a change of command ceremony in early July at NHCC, located on Joint Base- Naval Weapons Station Charleston.

Edwin Neumann is the author of Mythos Christos, a historical/archaeological suspense-thriller. He is currently working on a sequel.


Sandra Bury has been named VOSH Humanitarian of the Year.


Nick Colatrella was named Optometrist of the Year by the Minnesota Optometric Association.


Tricia Rose is the founder of Envision Boston Giving, a charity program that provides free vision screenings and glasses to school children. Her private practice, Envision Optometry, and Modern Optical work together to provide the services and glasses free of charge to the students.



Shauna Lushko is the recipient of the Young Optometrist of the Year Award by the Western PA Optometric Society.

Megan Allen and her husband welcomed baby Greta into the world on July 31, 2017.


Andrea Carda recently joined Dr. John Bateman as an associate in his Plattsmouth and Ashland, Neb. practices.

Jace Giannetti was elected to the Susan B. Allen Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees. The hospital is located in El Dorado, Kansas.

Benjamin Lickteig has been practicing in Boston metro area since 2010.  He has grown his single LensCrafters sublease location into three locations. Dr. Lickteig and his wife, Kelly, have a 2 year old named Annie.  They also welcomed another baby girl, Natalie, into their family in July.



Justin Deal opened Lyons Eye Optometry in Lyons, Colo.

Nick Lillie and his wife Ashley welcomed a baby girl, Isabelle Grace, on Sept. 6.


Christopher Frohm opened Northfield Vision Center in Northfield, Ill.

Barton Higley celebrated the 1st anniversary of owning EyeWorks in Keene, N.H.

Naghmeh Thompson opened Midhurst Family Eye Care in Midhurst, Ontario, Can.


Siva Meiyeppen has joined the pediatric staff of The Eye Institute of Salus University in Elkins Park, Penn.


Joel Hernandez joined Family Eye Care Specialists in Caldwell, Idaho.

Friends and Family

Nicole Kosciuk, part-time clinical instructor at IEI, and her husband welcomed baby, Lily Hope, on August 10.

To submit your news and announcements for Class Notes or In Memoriam, click here.

The following abbreviations denote predecessor names of the Illinois College of Optometry.
NICO: Northern Illinois College of Optometry
CCO: Chicago College of Optometry
MCO: Monroe College of Optometry
Northern Illinois College of Optometry Chicago College of Optometry Monroe College of Optometry

Be first to comment