Fall 2014
Fall 2014

Class Notes Fall 2014


Marilyn Brenne Heinke, NICO, was named the Wisconsin Optometric Association’s 2014 Optometrist of the Year at the WOA’s annual meeting in September (photo courtesy Wisconsin Optometric Association).


Lee Jacobson received a Wisconsin Optometric Association Life Membership award at the 2014 WOA annual meeting.


Wayne Wall received a Wisconsin Optometric Association Life Membership award at the 2014 WOA annual meeting.


Robert Fait received a Wisconsin Optometric Association Life Membership award at the 2014 WOA annual meeting.


William Molin received a Wisconsin Optometric Association Life Membership award at the 2014 WOA annual meeting.

Robert P. Rutstein, professor at UAB School of Optometry for 33 years, has published an electronic atlas on binocular vision for students and practitioners in optometry and ophthalmology.


Stan Appelbaum and his son, Bryce Appelbaum, OD ’09, were featured in the article “Seeing Success,” published in the September /October 2014 issue of Bethesda Magazine.


Steven Devick attended a meeting at the White House with President Obama on May 29. The event addressed sports-related concussions in children.


Joan Stelmack was named the 2014 Optometrist of the Year by the Armed Forces Optometric Society.


Sunny M. Sanders has been appointed founding dean of the Midwestern University College of Optometry in Downers Grove, Ill.


Peter M. Agnone, Jr. received the American Optometric Association’s Optometrist of the Year award in June in Philadelphia at the organization’s annual meeting.

James Chapman has been appointed assistant dean of clinical affairs at the University of the Incarnate Word Rosenberg School of Optometry in San Antonio, Texas. He supervises the clinical operations of the school’s six clinical facilities.


Sandra Block has been named the Alumni Council liaison to the ICO Board of Trustees. This is a new three-year-term position.


J. Eric Paulsen was elected president of the Wisconsin Optometric Association at WOA’s annual meeting in September. He will assume the office in January. He is pictured with immediate past president Michael Tashner, OD ’93.

1985 Victoria Haynes has joined Northwestern Medical Group’s ophthalmology team. She will continue seeing patients in her Lake Forest and Grayslake, Ill., offices.


Larry Van Daalen has been elected president of the ICO Alumni Council.


R. Scott Wooley was named the Illinois Optometric Association’s OD of the Year. He was also named an at-large member of the American Board of Optometry’s Board of Directors.


Renee Dunlap was awarded the Platinum Practice Award from Texas State Optical at the Vision Quest conference this past year.


Dominick Opitz welcomed his third child, Noah Byron, on Aug 21.


Jason Schmit has joined Vance Thompson Vision in Sioux Falls, S.D., where he’s been instrumental in creating the clinic’s Dry Eye Center of Excellence.


Christine Janikowski is practicing at Advanced Eyecare Clinic in Lake in the Hills, Ill. Paul Stauder was elected president of the Illinois Optometric Association.

Steve Vargo was appointed vice president of optometric consulting at Prima Eye Group.


Steven P. Clancy has joined Pine Creek Vision Clinic in Colorado Springs, Colo. He recently retired from the Air Force as lieutenant colonel.


Callie Enyart was elected president-elect of the Wisconsin Optometric Association at the WOA’s annual meeting in September.


Brad Kehler has been appointed Vice President, Applied Clinical Informatics at Hospital Corporation of America.


Raman Gill and Sukh Takher ’04 welcomed their second child, son Sahib Takher, on Jan. 29.


Sara Fredrickson recently joined Northwest Eye Clinic in Fosston, Minn. She specializes in head trauma, brain injuries, stroke and motor vehicle accident injury.

Andrea McCann has been elected president-elect of the ICO Alumni Council.


Brandy Morrow has joined Eye-Site by Howlin’s Vision in Sioux Falls, S.D.


Katie Foreman welcomed son Noah Charles on July 18.


Tessa Sokol was awarded 2014 Young OD of the Year by the Wisconsin Optometric Association. She is pictured with the 2013 recipient, David Hammes, OD ’04.


Chris J. Borgman had three articles published in August and September of this year: “Putting Patients at Ease” in Optometry Times, a case report on dacryocystitis in Optometry Vision Science, and a CE article on neovascular glaucoma in Review of Optometry.

Desiree Carrillo-Owen welcomed son Miles Emmett on Dec. 12, 2013.

Jessica Condie welcomed a daughter, Macy, on July 14.

Benjamin D. Crawford purchased Accurate Vision Clinic in March and was married in May.

Amanda Hoffmann recently merged her private practice with a local ophthalmology practice in Wausau, Wis., and welcomed her first baby, both in June.

Diana Colon Stewart and Shane Stewart welcomed their first child, Elisa, on Aug. 25.

Michelle Zickel was voted 2014 Preceptor of the Year by the class of 2015 at New England College of Optometry. She says that every day she’s proud of the clinical education she received at ICO.


Robert E. Chun was recently appointed clinical assistant professor of ophthalmology at Loyola University in Maywood, Ill.

Katie Goodman-Thomas bought Carlinville Eye Care in Carlinville, Ill., from John Lapp ’76 in March 2013. She bought the building in January of this year.

Catherine Loughrin welcomed a son, Bennett Matthew, on Sept. 21. He joins big sister Aven Lilly.

Nicholas Lillie was married on April 26 to Ashley Zandbergen.

Nicole Vasilnek Jensen married ICO classmate Steven Jensen and is currently the editor of the Illinois Optometric Association’s journal.

Emily Walters welcomed her second child, Jace Matthew, on Sept. 4.


Eric Coy has joined Family Optical Centre, which has locations in Rockford and Belvidere, Ill.

Trichelle Jackson has joined Donald Furman, OD ’92, as a partner of Family Eye Care Center in Forest City, Iowa.

Viktoria Milunas Loydall was married Nov. 2, 2013, and is practicing in Joliet, Ill., at Cutler Eye Care and C & C Vision Gallery.


Rosaline Cha has joined Plainfield Ophthalmology in Plainfield, Ill.

Lauren Walter Hallum and her husband, Zach, welcomed a baby boy, Cole Bradley, on Sept. 15.

Nicholas Olberding completed his residency at St. Louis VAMC and is now back in his home state of Iowa, working at Eye Associates of Iowa City.

Charmi Patel-Solanki was married on Aug. 16.

Carly Rose welcomed a new baby on July 31.

Kassandra Wedeking is practicing at Loveland Eyecare in Cromwell, Conn.


Daniel Ahrens has joined Meyer Eyecare in Blue Island, Ill.

Chad Parks has joined Northwest Eyecare in Freeport, Ill., and was just recently engaged to his girlfriend of six years, Shira Lambert. He says he can’t thank the faculty and administration at ICO enough for preparing him for his optometric career.

Ashley Roth is working with her father, David Roth, OD ’89, at Roth Eye Care, as well as part-time at Lenscrafters Optique in Miami.

Lauren Sanchez married Sammuel Tillich in June. She practices at Michiana Eye Care and Facial Plastic Surgery, an OD/MD practice in Mishawaka, Ind.

Friends & Family

R.Michael Daley, member of the ICO Board of Trustees, started as CEO of The Vision Council on Oct. 1.

Andria Pihos, OD, gave birth to her third child, Nikitas Vasilios Vatianou, on Aug 6. He joins two brothers, Kosta and Markos.

To submit your news and announcements for Class Notes or In Memoriam, click here.

The following abbreviations denote predecessor names of the Illinois College of Optometry.
NICO: Northern Illinois College of Optometry
CCO: Chicago College of Optometry
MCO: Monroe College of Optometry
Northern Illinois College of Optometry Chicago College of Optometry Monroe College of Optometry

Be first to comment