Fall 2016
Fall 2016
[ Rina Sheth, ’17, Nicole Akpunku, ’18, and Amy Keopraseuth, ’18 (Left). Christine Allison, OD (Right). ]

2016 Convention Roundup

ICO has had a very successful convention season, with students, faculty, staff, and alumni representing the College at industry events.

Optometry’s Meeting 2016
This year’s AOA/AOSA convention was held in Boston, Massachusetts. We premiered our Online CE Portal at the July 1 Alumni & Friends Reception. Students donned pirate-themed costumes to cheer on David Schaeffer, ’17, at the Varilux Optometry Student Bowl. Numerous faculty members presented research, keeping ICO at the cutting edge of the profession. We’re already looking forward to 2017 in Washington, D.C.

NOA 2016
The 48th Annual National Optometric Association Convention was held July 5-10 in our own backyard- the Palmer House Hilton, Chicago. Fourteen ICO students attended with Dr. Arol Augsburger and representatives from across our institution. Rina Sheth, ’17, Nicole Akpunku, ’18, and Amy Keopraseuth, ’18, each took home scholarships. Mallory Scrimger, ’19, Kei Sugahara, ’19, and Ashleigh Burroughs, ’20, were elected into leadership positions.

IOA 2016
Many members of the ICO family road tripped down to Springfield, Illinois, for the Illinois Optometric Association’s annual convention. ICO hosted a cocktail reception as well as a luncheon. Geoffrey Goodfellow, OD ’01, was named the Tom Lawless Keyperson of the Year. Nicole Jensen, OD ’11, was declared Young OD of the Year, and Dennis Brtva, OD ’84, joined her as OD of the Year. ICO is also proud of faculty member Dr. Christine Allison, sworn in as IOA president at the convention. Congratulations!

Be first to comment